New to forums

Anthony81

Dec 12, 2022
My name is Tony, I live in Charleston S.C. I have a 2006 Sequoia Limited 267K Miles. Still runs great! 35" Toyo A/T Tires, 4" lift, Magna-flo exhaust system, took off resonator, cold air intake. I just installed the roof rack, took off the running boards as well. I'm here to share my mechanical expertise, and to learn from you all. I've been a mechanic for over 25 years. This is my first Toyota, I can't be happier with it.

rockheadjc

Jul 10, 2023
Welcome Tony. This isn’t a very active forum. Unfortunately, there aren’t enough Sequoia owners that are mechanical guys like you and me.

That said, I have 2 Sequoias. A 2010 Limited and a 2018 Platinum.

I have a mechanical question for you. My 2010 has 286k miles. I recently replaced the original starter. Total PITA to change.
Since I’ve replaced it, the engine sounds like it has developed a knock after a cold start. Once warmed up, it goes away. I’ve never heard this sound before. Kinda freaks me out. No CEL.
I also had a few other issues, but they’re ok now.

Anthony81

Dec 12, 2022
Hey, if it started after you replaced the starter, I wonder if the starter is dragging after you crank it up. Did you put on oem or an aftermarket starter? Is your oil pressure good when you start it? Could be a coincidence.

rockheadjc

Jul 10, 2023
Hey, if it started after you replaced the starter, I wonder if the starter is dragging after you crank it up. Did you put on oem or an aftermarket starter? Is your oil pressure good when you start it? Could be a coincidence.
It’s an aftermarket. I bench tested it and it was fine. Doesn’t sound like a dragging of the starter. Possibly coincidental.

It sounds like a legit knock.
Oil psi is fine and fluctuates with rise and fall of rpm’s. It’s so strange.

Anthony81

Dec 12, 2022